Wheat Free White Chocolate Chip Cookies

There have been a few dramas in the kitchen in the past few weeks – the brand new kitchenaid breaking for starters! Its currently off getting repaired somewhere and by the time it gets back it will actually have been for repairs for longer than I’ve actually owned it! Typical!

In the mean time, I have (begrudgingly) gone back to my recent days of doing everything by hand. Fingers crossed my kitchenaid will be back and fully functioning soon!

Now, down to the baking. I’ve been making more and more wheat free and gluten free recipes recently as my Mum is wheat intolerant and it doesn’t entirely agree with my Sister either. I’ve actually got a few recipes ready to post up, but decided to go with this one today as I’ve just finished munching on the lot.

Wheat Free White Chocolate Chip Cookies

(from www.wheat-free.org)

  • 115g butter
  • 50g granulated sugar
  • 75g brown sugar ( I used dark brown, but light brown should be fine too)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 165g rice flour (I used brown rice flour, but white can be used)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 150g white chocolate (in chunks, I used broken up Milkybar buttons)
Makes 15

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. In a bowl, cream together the butter and the two sugars.

2. Beat in the egg and the vanilla extract.

3. Sieve in the rice flour, cocoa powder, soda and baking powder and mix together.

4. Fold in the chocolate chunks. Take spoonfuls of the dough and place evenly on your baking paper lined tray. The cookies will spread an inch or so in the oven so leave some space between cookies.

5. Put in the oven for 12-14 mins. Leave to cool for a few minutes before cooling fully on a wire rack (or at least before stuffing in your mouth!).

Just a quick note on my food photography – this is actually using natural light for once, but in the only place in my flat that gets it, that is, the window sill. Not the best studio I’ll be honest!

Leave a Reply

