Millionaire’s Shortbread and a Very Special Christmas Present

Well, well, well – look what I got for Christmas! Wahoooo! I’m well aware I’m showing how cool I am, but I still can’t quite get over how ace it is. Only problem so far is that it means I’m doing waaayyyy more baking thats far too easy to eat. Oops!

So there’s been a distinct lack of posting of late. This is due to many reasons; mainly its being busy with my job that I started back in June and the fact that my new flat has close to zero natural light. Therefore my usual sketchy photography is taken back to near diabolical. My apologies.

While I work on my dire photography skills, I’ll share with you a recipe that I tried out a few months ago that I’d wanted to test out for ages!

Millionaire’s Shortbread

(Recipe adapted from BBC Good Food and the Carnation website)

Shortbread:

  • 250g plain flour
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 175g butter, softened

Caramel:

  • 150g butter
  • 150g dark brown soft sugar
  • 397g can Condensed Milk

Chocolate:

  • 200g Dark Chocolate
  • 50g White Chocolate/Milk Chocolate (optional)

1. Start by preheating your oven to 180°C and grease and line a 13×9 inch swiss roll sheet pan with baking paper.

2. To make the shortbread, put the flour and sugar in a bowl and mix. Rub in the butter until it looks like breadcrumbs. Pull the mixture together into a dough, picking up all the dry ingredients. Press this dough into your prepared pan. Prick all over with a fork and place in the oven for around 20 minutes until very lightly browned.

3. Prepare the caramel while the shortbread cools. Heat the dark brown sugar and butter in a pan until the sugar has melted. While stirring continuously, add in the tin of condensed milk and bring to the boil fairly quickly. Cook for a minute or two until the caramel has thickened. Pour over the cooled shortbread and place in the fridge to set.

4. Next, melt the dark chocolate in a bowl over a pan of hot water, or melt in the microwave (in short bursts with regular stirring to avoid burning). Pour the chocolate over the caramel and shortbread and spread out evenly. If you want to get a bit more creative you can melt white or milk chocolate and, using a spoon, drizzle the it over the still runny dark chocolate. Use a toothpick to swirl the two chocolates together.

Now you’ll notice that I’ve actually done a base of milk chocolate with dark chocolate swirled in. Thats because I forgot until I just uploaded the picture! You can do any combination of chocolate you like though – I’m currently envisioning white chocolate with dark chocolate swirled in – yep definitely going to have to try that one now!

Also, as you can see in the picture above, I discovered my swiss roll pan was slightly too long and I couldn’t spread out my shortbread any more – no big deal, just some edges that I had to neaten up*.

And there you have it! I always thought Millionaire’s Shortbread was really hard to make, but as you can see – easy peasy!

*When I say neaten up, I obviously mean ‘stuff my face with’**.

**In fact I neatened up so many edges I’m not allowed to make these again…

2 thoughts on “Millionaire’s Shortbread and a Very Special Christmas Present

  1. Yeah, but, my trouble is that I make all this stuff and very rarely manage to give it all away and it ends up all on my waistline. I’ll have to keep you in mind for when I’m trying to give out my baking!

Leave a Reply

