A mixing dilemma

I’ve been dreaming about buying a stand mixer for a long time now, but have finally started considering buying one. Cue much confusion about whats good and what is the right one for me. I tried to find some sort of comparison on the internet and couldn’t find any unbiased reviews, let alone a fair comparison. So I decided to put my own comparison together using all the information I could find on the internet (including trawling though Amazons sketchy review system). For each item I have  put what it includes, the technical specs, prices, reviews and pros and cons. The pros and cons are quite general but remember that some of them are specific to me i.e. a heavy mixer will be difficult for little old me to move, I quite fancy a pretty mixer, so I’ll comment on that too etc. Here we go.

Kenwood Chef Classic (White)


Includes: K Beater, Balloon Whisk, Dough Hook, 1.5L Liquidiser, Splashguard, Spatula

Technical Specs:

  • 800W Motor
  • 4.6L Bowl Capacity
  • Capacity – Cake : 2.72kg
  • Capacity – Dough : 2.18kg
  • Capacity – Egg Whites: 12 Maximum
  • Size: 39.0L x 23.5W x 29.0H
  • Weight: 6.49kg
  • Guarantee: 1 Year

Prices:

  • Amazon £171.41 (Free Shipping) (151 5* reviews, 35 4* and 10 <3*)
  • John Lewis £229

Pros:

  • Cheapest Kenwood Chef
  • 800w motor (only premier is more powerful)
  • Comes with splashguard and liquidiser
  • Basic colour, will go with everything
  • 1kg lighter than the premier (easy to move)
  • A LOT of 5* reviews on amazon

Cons:

  • Doesn’t have a flexi beater
  • Have to calibrate beater so it scrapes the sides
  • Slightly less powerful than the premier
  • 1kg lighter than the premier (not as sturdy)
  • Design is not as good as some other mixers, bit boring.

Kenwood Chef Premier KMC510

Includes: K beater, flexi beater, balloon whisk, dough hook, splashguard, spatula, 1.5l liquidiser,

Technical Specs:

  • 1000W Motor
  • Bowl Capacity : 4.6 Litres
  • Capacity – Cake : 2.72kg
  • Capacity – Dough : 2.18kg
  • Capacity – Egg Whites 12 Max
  • Size: 39.0L x 23.0W x 28.5H
  • Weight: 7.7kg
  • 1 year guarantee

Prices:

Amazon: £279.99 (25 5* reviews, 3 4*)

John Lewis: £339

Pros:

  • Flexi beater included and liquidiser
  • Heavier than basic kenwood
  • Still much cheaper than kitchenaid

Cons:

  • More expensive than the basic kenwood and only main differences are the flexi beater, wattage and weight
  • Not as pretty as kitchenaid

Kenwood kMix KMX54 Stand Mixer (Black, Cream or Red)

Includes: K Beater, Balloon Whisk, Dough Hook, Splashguard with hinge, Spatula

Technical Specs:

  • 500W Motor
  • Capacity – Cake : 2.72kg
  • Capacity – Dough : 1.3kg
  • Capacity – Egg Whites: 12
  • Cord Storage
  • Size: 22.3L x 36.1W x 34.9H
  • Weight: 8.05kg

Price:

Amazon: £249.70 (11 5* reviews, 2 <4*)

John Lewis: £270.90

Pros:

  • Good design
  • Cheaper than kitchenaid
  • More powerful than kitchenaid
  • Sturdy – 8kg
  • Hinged flap on splashguard

Cons:

  • £80 more than basic Kenwood Chef
  • Doesn’t have a liquidiser, or a place to put one on
  • No flexi beater

KitchenAid K45SS Classic Stand Mixer (White)

Includes: Beater, Dough Hook, Whisk

Technical Specs:

  • 250W Motor
  • 4L Bowl
  • 28 x 41 x 41 cm
  • 13 Kg

Prices:

Amazon: £293 (45 5* reviews, 10 4*, 6 <3*)

Pros:

  • Good design – prettier than Kenwood
  • Cheaper than Artisan KitchenAid

Cons:

  • Expensive in comparison to Kenwood, get a lot less for your money
  • Very heavy, hard to move if not enough counter space

KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer (Various model numbers)

Includes: Dough Hook, beater, wire whisk, splashguard

Technical Specs:

  • 300W Motor
  • 4.75L Bowl
  • 28.1x41x41cm
  • 13kg

Prices:

Amazon: £409 (18 5* reviews, 4 <3*) There are more reviews, but are spread over all of the different models)

John Lewis: £389

Pros:

  • Very pretty, can choose from lots of different colours
  • Very sturdy
  • Comes with splashguard
  • Handle on bowl

Cons:

  • Very expensive, don’t get as much for your money
  • Heavy, hard to move if not enough counter space

Having gone through all of these mixers, I’ve pretty much talked myself out of even considering a KitchenAid. Don’t get me wrong, I want one. I reeeally want one. But I just can’t get past that price, especially when you look at how much more you can get for £150 less. I think the design is still quite an important factor for me, so I’m eyeing up the kmix the most at the moment. If I don’t get that one then I think it will be the premier.

I think.

9 thoughts on “A mixing dilemma

  1. I’ve got a kenwood Prospro andit has been the best investment ever in my kitchen up until now. Love it and I am pretty sure that it is good enough for a home kitchen 🙂 I’ll be in trouble when deciding on bigger machines after school 🙂 I put my vote to Kenwood so you can get more ingredients and some spending money but I’m curious what you’ll end up buying…

    • I looked at the Kenwood Prospero a while ago and it was pretty cheap, but since then its actually more expensive than the Kenwood Chef Classic so thats why I just decided to look at that one.

      I’ve told myself I can get one to reward myself if I pass my driving test, but if I don’t then I might just get one to console myself!

  2. Pingback: 6 Weeks Later – A Love Story About a Girl and Her KitchenAid… | Charli Barley Baking Again

Leave a Reply

